On Now
Coming Up
  • There are no Events to display in this category.



Vote for Mike Glennon for Rookie of the Week

Posted Nov 19, 2013

QB Mike Glennon's superb performance on Sunday, which included a 137.5 passer rating, has him up for his first weekly NFL award, which will be determined by fan voting on NFL.com

Mike Glennon's performance against the Atlanta Falcons on Sunday at Raymond James Stadium was, statistically, one of the best by an NFL quarterback in 2013. With the help of fan voters, it could be deemed the best performance by any NFL rookie in Week 11 of the season.

Glennon is one of five players who has been nominated for the current NFL Rookie of the Week Award.  The winner will be determined by voting on NFL.com, which lasts through Friday, November 22, at 3:00 p.m. ET.  The Rookie of the Week will then be revealed on NFL Total Access on NFL Network and on NFL.com on Friday. Click here to go to the balloting page on NFL.com and cast your vote.  You can watch a highlight video of Glennon's Week 11 performance as well as one for each of his competitors for the award.  Also nominated for NFL Rookie of the Week in Week 11 are Denver Broncos running back Montee Ball, Chicago Bears defensive end David Bass, Buffalo Bills quarterback E.J. Manuel and Oakland Raiders quarterback Matt McGloin.

-- QB Mike Glennon produced the top single-game completion percentage in the NFL this season on Sunday
In just his seventh NFL start, Glennon was masterful in the Buccaneers' 41-28 victory over the Falcons.  He completed 20 of 23 passes for 231 yards, two touchdowns and no interceptions, directing a Buccaneer offense that racked up a season high 410 yards.

Glennon's 137.5 passer rating was the 13th-best single-game performance by any quarterback this season, and the sixth-best by a rookie quarterback since the 1970 NFL merger.  His 87.0% completion rate was the second-best in Buccaneers history and the best in a single game by any NFL quarterback this season.

This is Glennon's first Rookie of the Week nomination, and in fact the first time that a Buccaneer player has been among the five nominees this season.  The last Buccaneer to win the award was running back Doug Martin after his 251-yard performance against Oakland in Week Nine of last season.  The only other Tampa Bay rookies to win the award were wide receiver Michael Clayton (Week 14 in 2004) and running back Cadillac Williams (Weeks One, Two and Three in 2005).

After the regular season, five players will be nominated for the NFL Rookie of the Year award.  Fans will be able to vote for the winner throughout the month of January.  The winner will be announced at the “3rd Annual NFL Honors” awards show in New York City on FOX on Saturday, Feb. 1, the night before Super Bowl XLVIII.