Skip to main content

Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Bucs Name 2018 Captains: Ali Marpet and Adarius Taylor First-Time Selections

Buccaneer players have selected their team captains for 2018, with Kwon Alexander, Lavonte David and Mike Evans all repeating in that role, joined by first-timers Ali Marpet and Adarius Taylor


The Tampa Bay Buccaneers revealed their team captains for the 2018 season on Friday, and the five-man list includes three players repeating in that role and two who will have the honor for the first time.

The Buccaneers' offensive captains are wide receiver Mike Evans and guard Ali Marpet. Evans was a team captain for the first time last year, in his fourth season. Marpet is a captain for the first time, also ascending to that status in his fourth year in the NFL.

Tampa Bay's defensive captains are linebackers Kwon Alexander and Lavonte David, both of whom were also captains last year. David has been selected as a team captain for five straight seasons; Alexander is in his second year in that role.

Taking over as the Bucs' special teams captain for the first time is linebacker Adarius Taylor. That honor belonged to safety Josh Robinson last year, but Robinson is no longer with the team.

Each NFL team is allowed to have up to six captains on game day, so the Buccaneers could chose to have a sixth rotating captain if they so desire.

Each year, team captains are determined by a vote among the players on the roster. The Buccaneers had gone with captains on a game-by-game basis through the first six weeks of the season but an NFL deadline to select permanent captains for 2018 was rapidly approaching.

Latest Headlines