Skip to main content

Tampa Bay Buccaneers


The Tampa Bay Buccaneers today re-signed kicker Chase McLaughlin.

McLaughlin finished the 2023 campaign converting 29-of-31 (93.5%) field goal attempts and going a perfect 33-for-33 (100%) on extra points for a total of 120 kicking points. He established a Buccaneers franchise record for field goal percentage in a single season, surpassing the previous mark of 92.9% set by Connor Barth in 2011.

"Re-signing Chase was one of our top priorities this offseason," said Buccaneers General Manager Jason Licht. "He had one of the most impressive seasons by any kicker in our franchise history and was critical to our success last year. Chase has a very strong leg and has been incredibly accurate, so we are thrilled to be keeping him in the fold."

Among qualified kickers in 2023, McLaughlin's 93.5 success rate ranked tied for seventh in the NFL. He converted seven-of-eight (87.5%) field goals from 50+ yards out, tied for the fifth-most made field goals from such distance. His 87.5% conversion rate on 50+ yard field goals was tied for the fourth-highest success rate in the league in 2023.

Since entering the league in 2019, McLaughlin has connected on 24-of-29 (82.8%) field goals from 50+ yards out, good for the fourth-most among all kickers over that span. His 82.8% success rate on such kicks during that span leads all kickers with at least 15 attempts from 50+ yards out.

In his career, McLaughlin has appeared in 64 games between the Los Angeles Chargers, San Francisco 49ers, Indianapolis Colts, Jacksonville Jaguars, New York Jets, Cleveland Browns and Tampa Bay Buccaneers. He has converted on 96-of-116 (82.8%) field goal attempts and 121-of-123 (98.4%) extra points for a total of 409 kicking points. McLaughlin made his postseason debut with Tampa Bay in 2023, converting 4-of-5 field goals (80%) and going 5-for-5 on point after tries.

The Cypress, Texas, native played collegiately at Illinois. During the 2018 season, McLaughlin led the Big Ten in field goals per game (1.67), won the Bakken-Andersen Big Ten Kicker of the Year award and was voted first-team All-Big Ten.


Latest Headlines