Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Mariucci Picks Winston for Rookie of the Year

The majority of NFL Media analysts polled believe that Jameis Winston is the NFL's Rookie of the Year.

A photo timeline of Jameis Winston's rookie year with the Buccaneers.

This Saturday, the Associated Press will announce their winner for this year's Rookie of the Year award. Among those players nominated is Buccaneer quarterback, Jameis Winston.

Winston has already been selected as Pro Football Focus' Rookie of the Year, along with earning a job from ESPN draft analyst Mel Kiper. On Wednesday, a handful of NFL Media analyst, including former head coach Steve Mariucci, gave their picks for this year's Rookie of the Year. Maricucci, along with fellow analysts Ladanian Tomlinson, Nate Burleson, Dave Dameshek, Judy Battista and Ike Taylor all picked Winston as their winner.

Several other analysts were polled, as well. Of those who didn't pick Winston, five picked Rams running back Todd Gurley and three picked Raiders wide receiver Amari Cooper. Winston's six votes were the most of the three.

Winston put together a historic rookie season, by any account. He threw for 4,042 yards, the third-most by a rookie in a single season. Winston accounted for 28 total touchdowns, which were also the third most by a rookie passer in one season. For his efforts, he was selected to his first Pro Bowl this year.

In addition to the Associated Press' Rookie of the Year award, Winston has also been nominated for the same award given out by the NFL. The winner of that award will be announced on Saturday, as well. For more from NFL.com on their Rookie of the Year selections, click HERE.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.