Skip to main content

Tampa Bay Buccaneers

McCoy Up for NFL Sportsmanship Award

The 32 player nominees for the first NFL Sportsmanship Award have been finalized, the NFL announced today. Each NFL team nominated one of its players for the award, which will recognize annually NFL players who exemplify outstanding sportsmanship on the field.


The winner of the NFL Sportsmanship Award will be determined by a vote of current NFL players. A panel of former players from the NFL Legends Community will select from the 32 nominees eight finalists (four in the AFC; four in the NFC). The panel is comprised of Warrick Dunn, Curtis Martin, Karl Mecklenburg and Leonard Wheeler.

The eight finalists will be listed on the Pro Bowl ballot under the NFL Sportsmanship Award when the players vote on December 19. From the eight finalists, each team's players will submit a consensus vote of its choice for the winner. As in Pro Bowl voting, a team cannot vote for its own player.

The award will be presented each year to an NFL player who best demonstrates the qualities of on-field sportsmanship, including fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition.

The winner selected by the vote of the players will be announced during the nationally televised "4th Annual NFL Honors" show on Saturday, January 31 on NBC, the night before Super Bowl XLIX. He will receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of his choice. He also will be presented with a trophy that will capture the important role that sportsmanship plays in the game and how NFL players that demonstrate integrity and honor on the field serve as role models for other players at all levels.




Arizona Cardinals

WR Larry Fitzgerald

Atlanta Falcons

RB Steven Jackson

Baltimore Ravens

WR Torrey Smith

Buffalo Bills

WR Chris Hogan

Cincinnati Bengals

CB Terence Newman

Carolina Panthers

LB Thomas Davis

Chicago Bears

RB Matt Forté

Cleveland Browns

CB Joe Haden

Dallas Cowboys

TE Jason Witten

Denver Broncos

DE DeMarcus Ware

Detroit Lions

WR Calvin Johnson

Green Bay Packers

WR Jordy Nelson

Houston Texans

DE J.J. Watt

Indianapolis Colts

WR T.Y. Hilton

Jacksonville Jaguars

DT Roy Miller III

Kansas City Chiefs

QB Alex Smith

Miami Dolphins

DE Cameron Wake

Minnesota Vikings

LB Chad Greenway

New England Patriots

WR/ST Matthew Slater

New Orleans Saints

WR Marques Colston

New York Giants

LB Jameel McClain

New York Jets

T D'Brickashaw Ferguson

Oakland Raiders

S Charles Woodson

Philadelphia Eagles

LB Connor Barwin

Pittsburgh Steelers

S Troy Polamalu

San Diego Chargers

TE Antonio Gates

San Francisco 49ers

LB Patrick Willis

Seattle Seahawks

LB K.J. Wright

St. Louis Rams

DE Robert Quinn

Tampa Bay Buccaneers

DT Gerald McCoy

Tennessee Titans

S George Wilson

Washington Redskins

S Ryan Clark

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Latest Headlines