Skip to main content
Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Starting Again

Pro Bowl starting lineups were announced Saturday and for the second straight season, CB Ronde Barber and LB Derrick Brooks will start together on the NFC’s defense


CB Ronde Barber saw the Bucs' season end Saturday but he has one more start to make this winter

The Tampa Bay Buccaneers' 2005 season came to an early on Saturday, but two Buccaneers still have one more start to make.

During halftime of Tampa Bay's 17-10 Wild Card playoff loss to the Washington Redskins, the NFL announced which of its Pro Bowlers in each conference would start the all-star game in February. For the second straight year, that list included Buccaneer defensive standouts Ronde Barber and Derrick Brooks on the NFC team.

The Bucs have three players in the Pro Bowl, but the third is punter Josh Bidwell, and specialists are not considered starters. Saturday's list included 11 offensive and defensive starters for each team.

Barber, who was selected for his third Pro Bowl, will be making his second start, along with Atlanta cornerback DeAngelo Hall. Brooks, who is joined in the NFC's starting linebacking corps by Atlanta's Keith Brooking and Chicago's Brian Urlacher, has been starting in Honolulu since 1998, his second Pro Bowl.

Tampa Bay, Atlanta and Chicago are the only teams with multiple starters on the NFC's defense, as each has two. Urlacher is joined by Chicago defensive tackle Tommie Harris. Indianapolis has the most defensive starters with three, as the AFC's squad will include defensive end Dwight Freeney, linebacker Cato June and safety Bob Sanders on its opening D.

The Seattle Seahawks have the most starters overall in the NFC with five, all on offense. That quintet includes quarterback Matt Hasselbeck, running back Shaun Alexander, fullback Mack Strong, tackle Walter Jones and guard Steve Hutchinson. The 14-2 Colts lead all teams with seven starters, the three above plus offensive players quarterback Peyton Manning, running back Edgerrin James, wide receiver Marvin Harrison and center Jeff Saturday.

The Pro Bowl will be played at Aloha Stadium in Honolulu, Hawaii on Sunday, February 12. It will be broadcast live at 6:00 PM ET by ESPN.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Latest Headlines